Halloween, Mormon Helping Hands, and Two Whole Decades Old…‏

Buenas Family,

This week was crazy and fun!!2014 11 bday

To start, yesterday was my birthday as you all know I’m sure, haha,  and yes I am 20, which if you ask me that’s weird.   But my birthday was awesome!  When I walked out to have devotional there were balloons all over the floor and a sign and a coconut and some cookies!!!  Yes, my hermanas in my house are awesome.   We were eating cake and all of a sudden there was a cake with 20 candles on it oh my goodness what a surprise.  They stayed up till i was a sleep to make my cake.  Yeah it was a good cake. Later in the evening I went through my bday package.  I kept finding more and more goodies.   Needless to say it was an awesome package!  thanks mom.  [we were paying for the flat rate, might as well pack as much as we could]

We did have to fast, but that’s ok, I’ll take some blessings as a birthday present from God.   We went to church which wasn’t as stressful as usual.

Ok back track, Halloween was super fun we had caramel apples at night and candy corn!!

We did Mormon Helping Hands on Saturday and picked up trash along the side of the road for about 1 mile.   Needless to say they need a better trash system here.  Oh and people pee in bottles and through them off to the side of the road.  We learned that you do not open them because it is the MOST DISGUSTING smell, ever… they call it MEOW –well that’s how it’s said here, not how its spelled in Spanish.

oh weird dominican story of the week…

I was eating a cracker on the way to a lesson and then this fat lady saw that i had them and said “give a cracker to me” we laughed, but then she said it again so I did.  I learned that you never eat food in front of fat Dominican people because they will demand you to give them your food and not say thank you.

In case you were wondering people are super blunt here so for me to call her fat is not mean in fact it’s pretty much a compliment. and yes she was really fat.

Some culture stuff that I keep forgetting to tell you…

People sweep the dirt here. Don’t ask me why because I don’t understand haha

Also people water the street–to clean it or something, I’m not really sure but they do it.

Oh, and there are these trucks with huge speakers that drive around the town and announce things to the town.  Sometimes there is one that announces the death of people and plays sad music…

Oh, last week we met the mayor of town!!  He told us random stories and we sat in his office on his couch. (I miss couches.)

REY and Cuna–Rey only has one leg and Cuna has high blood pressure, they have such faith.  But Cuna won’t go to church because she has to take care of her daughter who is pregnant with high BP as well, we had a really awesome lesson with them about prayer and how we can receive answers, but also how if we sacrifice time for church the Lord will bless us.

Con muchisimo Amor,

Hermana Johnson

Leave a Reply

